“You cannot solve a problem from the same consciousness that created it. You must learn to see the world anew.” Albert Einstein

Short Skirts Magically Turn Women Into not nice Women


After nearly twenty years of teaching gender studies at a community college, I’ve got a little saying that elicits knowing smiles whenever I share it around campus: "sisterhood is easier in winter." I’m referring to the reality that when the weather is cold (or as cold as it gets in Southern California) and my students are in sweaters and jeans, there’s considerably less intra-female hostility in my classrooms than when the weather turns warm. image

I’ve seen it happen a hundred times. On a hot day, a young woman arrives late to class. She’s wearing short shorts or a miniskirt, perhaps with a sleeveless, low-cut top. Students turn to stare as she walks in, and on more than one occasion, I’ve heard low murmurs of feminine disapproval from the back of the classroom. Sometimes you can catch the sotto voce whispers: "Who does she think she is?" "What a slut." Or my favorite, "This is school, not a nightclub." A few of the male students seem on the verge of drooling. Some students watch me carefully, to see if I’m checking out their scantily-clad classmate. Meanwhile, the object of all the judgment sits stiffly, trying to pretend she’s impervious to all the animus coming her way

Read More :http://jezebel.com/5863842/why-short-skirts-magically-turn-women-into-bitches

Leave a Reply

